Unsubscribe and Mute Members

Learn how to unsubscribe and mute members from future outreach

Unsubscribe Members

To ensure TCPA and CTIA compliance, Ascend only allows you to message people who are subscribed to your campagin.

What happens when a member is unsubscribed?

When a member record is marked as unsubscribed they are automatically excluded from broadcasts and their conversation is hidden from the Inbox.

How is a member unsubscribed?

A member is automatically unsubscribed when:

  • The member replies STOP or another opt-out phrase
  • Their device or mobile carrier returns a terminal error code, such as their number no longer being in service
  • They are marked as unsubscribed in a CSV import
  • They are updated in the Members list or Inbox as unsubscribed individually or via a bulk action by a user

How can a member resubcribe?

A member can resubscribe by replying with a keyword, such as JOIN, filling out an integrated form, being marked as resubscribed by a user, or integration (depending on your configured sync logic).

Note: You cannot resubscribe members using CSV imports or via bulk actions.

What is the difference between a member being unsubscribed versus muted?

Unlike an unsubscribed member, a muted member cannot resubscribe to your list.

How to unsubscribe members

Note: A member is automatically marked as unsubscribed when they reply STOP or another opt-out phrase.

Unsubscribe

Manually unsubscribe specific members from your list

  1. Search for the member record in the Inbox or Members list
  2. Toggle Subscribed to FALSE

Bulk unsubscribe

Unsubscribe a cohort of members from your list

  1. Go the the Members list
  2. Import a CSV of subscribers you wish to unsubscribe. More on importing CSVs here.

    OR filter your list for members you wish to unsubscribe. Click Bulk Actions and select Opt-out.

Mute Members

Use the muted feature to stop spam bots and bad actors from messaging your campaign.

What happens when a member is muted?

The mute feature is best for blocking bad actors or bots that you wish to exclude from your outreach. This action will prevent them from resubscribing. Muted members who have not unsubscribed will still be counted in subscribed member totals, but will be treated as unsubscribed by the platform.

When a member record is marked as muted they are excluded from broadcasts. Their conversation is also hidden from the Inbox. They cannot resubscribe to your campaign, even if they text in a keyword or fill out an integrated form.

How is a member muted?

A member can only be muted by a user in the Ascend platform. They can be muted in the Members list or the Inbox. Mute members in bulk using CSV imports or via bulk actions.

How can a member be unmuted?

A member can only be unmuted by a user in the Ascend platform. They can be unmuted in the Members list or the Inbox. Unmute members in bulk using CSV imports or via bulk actions.

How to mute members

Mute

Manually mute specific members from your list

  1. Search for the member record in the Inbox or Members list
  2. Toggle Muted to TRUE

Bulk mute

Mute a cohort of members from your list

  1. Go the the Members list
  2. Import a CSV of subscribers you wish to Mute. More on importing CSVs here.

    OR filter your list for members you wish to Mute. Click Bulk Actions and select Mute.

Additional Resources